Sun, Space, and Moving South

My eyes snap open at 8:33 am, and it takes me a moment to remember why I feel so happy and excited. Why there is bright sunshine streaming in through the window and birds chirping outside in early April. All of a sudden I remember, and then cannot wipe the smile off my face as I lie on my air mattress, taking it in all over again.

I moved to North Carolina yesterday.

Some highlights from the combined 30-hour trip:

  • In Pennsylvania, I heard the Third Eye Blind song Semi Charmed Life five times – a confusing occurrence, since that song was released in 1997.
  • In Virginia, a whiteout snow storm forced us to stop for the night at 8:30 pm, which, as two Vermonters moving to North Carolina, we found to be a pretty funny circumstance.
  • The Blue Ridge mountains, cloaked in fog and snow, were our companions on Friday morning when we got back on the road. It was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen.
  • There was a very definite moment when things turned from brown and grey to green and sunny. It was somewhere in southern Virginia, and it was a delicious, thrilling moment.

We arrived to a mountain of paperwork at our new apartment complex, which included a list of emergency maintenance situations that are the ONLY reasons to call maintenance after hours. One, in particular, gave us a chuckle: “If you have no air conditioning and the temperature is above 85 degrees Fahrenheit, OR if you have no heat and the temperature is below 60 degrees Fahrenheit.”

Emergency. No heat. 60 degrees.

In our new place I have a room devoted just to my crafts (and Brandon’s computer. And guests who come to stay. But mostly the crafts thing.) We have more space than we’ve ever had before and we’re having a fun time figuring out what we’re going to do with it all. Between that and the sunny weather, I think we’re already half in love with North Carolina.

1 Comment

April 8, 2013 · 1:51 pm

One response to “Sun, Space, and Moving South

  1. Linda Ray

    So glad you arrived safely and took the time to document

    it to make the rest of us smile!

Leave a comment