Knitting, Math, And The (Relatively) Short Road Left To Finishing My Shawl

I have been ‘almost done’ with this freaking shawl for what feels like forever, but has actually been approximately two weeks. I have been working an average of four hours per day to complete it, but sometimes six or more, and the seemingly never-shrinking number of stitches still remaining on the needles is slowly but surely turning me into a crazy person. The main part of the shawl was finished two and a half weeks ago, and then ‘all I had to do’ was ‘whip up the border’ and I’d be good to go – simple and easy! Simple, yes. Easy, yes. Time-consuming, HELL yes! I always work better when I know concretely what is left to accomplish and I can count down to achieving my goal, so below is a mathematical representation of the work left before this thing is FINALLY off the needles and ready to be washed, blocked, tail tucked and finished!

Stitches remaining on the needles: 274

Border rows needed to work one of the above stitches: 2

Total number of rows left to complete: 548

Number of rows in one border pattern repeat: 30

Number of pattern repeats remaining: 18

Number of minutes it takes to complete one pattern repeat: 30 (approximate)

Number of minutes remaining until shawl is off the needles: 540

Number of hours remaining: 9

Whew. That’s not as bad as I thought. I can probably get it done by the weekend! I’ll let you know how it goes, and post pictures as soon as possible.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Knitting, Math, And The (Relatively) Short Road Left To Finishing My Shawl

  1. Wendy Long

    Cannot wait to see the photos of the finished product!

Leave a Reply

